We have been discussing Scripture and Tradition a lot over the last few days. We learned that both need to exist and be in practice in order for us to fully uncover God's truth and revelation. Remember that Scripture "is the speech of God as it is put down in writing under the breath of the Holy Spirit" (Catechism of the Catholic Church). Tradition "comes from the apostles and hands on what they received from Jesus' teaching and example and what they learned from the Holy Spirit."

Remember that the first generation of Christians did not yet have a written New Testament, and the New Testament itself demonstrates the process of living Tradition.

Documents from the Church tell us that Tradition began when "the Apostles who, by their oral preaching, by example, and by observances handed on what they had received from the lips of Christ, from living with Him, and from what He did, or what they had learned through the prompting of the Holy Spirit." 

These Apostles and other disciples who were under the inspiration of the same Holy Spirit applied the message of salvation to writing.

Check out the two videos below. Notice the pieces from Scripture which discuss Tradition. You may need this for your assignment, so it's wise to pause along the way after viewing it the first time in full.

Download your assignment below. You can print it out and fill it in, or complete it on the computer. This is due Tuesday. I also attached a PDF in case you don't have Word or in case it comes out distorted.

Tradition in Scripture.doc
File Size: 33 kb
File Type: doc
Download File

Tradition in Scripture.pdf
File Size: 78 kb
File Type: pdf
Download File

Jonathan Sradina hr:215
10/4/2010 06:02:46 am

I think what the video is about is that the Catholic Church has many scriptures (bible readings) in which we should follow so we can be better Catholics.

Reply
Jonathan Sardina HR:215
10/4/2010 06:03:48 am

Misspelled my last name

Reply
Samantha D.
10/4/2010 06:08:22 am

The first one I love the saying "We christians where out our foreheads out with thw sign of the cross." Thats actually a good thing because it shows that we have faith in God. Even though it's sayin we do ie to much at least we do it and care. And you cant ever pray to much.


I think the second ones about tradition like when people get married they have always said through sickness and health or through ever lasting life and eternity. Thats been said for a really long time so it's a tradition. And it's also talking about nspecial times and qoutes.

Pray, cheer, love, and peace. I love God
YAY!!!!






Reply
Samantha D.
10/4/2010 06:10:22 am

oops i missed spelled the w/ thw and it w/ ie

SORRY
Pray, Peace, Love ,and Cheer
YAY!!!!

Reply
Amanda D.
10/4/2010 06:35:04 am

I like these videos because it really shows me some traditions that we have in our church. Some are from Jesus,(eating the Eucharist) and others just passed down from one person to the other (the sign of the cross). I like the Bible verses because it tells me more about Jesus and what we should do to follow Him. I think both scripture and tradition are very important in our faith and it wouldn't be the same with out them.

Reply
Amanda D. 215
10/4/2010 06:36:34 am

Oops, forgot to put that I am in room 215. I love God too, Sam!!! :)

Reply
Tommy Bello/215
10/4/2010 07:25:34 am

What I think is that there are many scriptures in the Catholic Church. To be better Catholics we should follow the traditions and interpret all the scriptures that there are.

Reply
Therese C. #215
10/4/2010 07:27:20 am

I like these videos because they kind of helped me understand Tradition. I learned that there are two kinds: through Jesus and the Eucharist, and through others like doing the sign of the cross. Also, the verses are about the Church and Jesus's stories and teachings.
I really am glad that Mrs. Beadel has this website. It'sfun to communicate with the classmates and our teacher and It's funny and cool. If only our other teachers came up with fantastic ideas like this. IT'S SO CREATIVE!!!

I luv God 2 Sam and Amanda!!!=)

Reply
Amanda Saurez -208
10/4/2010 07:29:41 am

I am not sure but where is our memory verse, because I am confused what thes.2:15 is? Sorry for the inconveniance.

Reply
Therese C.215
10/4/2010 07:29:42 am

Oh yeah. I'm watching television and they have a lame commercial for Mr. Gold Buyer. These people have a really bad buisness commercial. 4 realz!

Reply
Karyna Pena 215
10/4/2010 07:43:07 am

I LOVE THOSE VIDEOS. i like the reading a lot =) they spoke to me. I did the worksheet, but i did the one that you past out. Do we have to do it again on the one that say to download?

Reply
Karyna Pena 215
10/4/2010 07:44:15 am

Readings**

Reply
Daniella M. 215
10/4/2010 07:56:19 am

These videos really helped me understand the meaning of tradition to do the worksheet and questions I had of my own.

The first video is explaining tradition by bible quotes.

The second video is explaining that the Bible is very important to the Catholic faith, the first thing we practice is the sign of the cross, and pray the rosary. By these things we have practiced tradition.

Reply
Leslie C. 215
10/4/2010 08:15:38 am

I like the videos alot. Both are very helpful because they show ways people shared tradition thousands of years ago, that still go on today.I really like the quote from the tradition video.(We Christians wear out our foreheads with the sign of the cross.);) All those years ago when people didn't have the bible (or a printing press) they still were able to teach and communicate the Word of God.

Reply
Leslie C. 215
10/4/2010 08:17:53 am

Oh, and they helped me with the h.w. and understanding tradition. ;) ;) ;)

Reply
Leslie C. 215
10/4/2010 08:23:47 am

This is the last thing, I promise... I liked the quote because that shows how long we have been doing the sign of the cross and how faithful we are to keeping traditions alive. Just look at our traditions in the church, we have so many.( the Eucharist, praying the rosary, etc.)

Reply
Alexa Cruz/215
10/4/2010 08:56:31 am

I like the videos alot. They both were very helpful to me in understanding Scripture and Tradition. The video I liked a bit better was Catholic Tradition in Scripture. My favorite quote was "Early the next morning Abraham got up and returned to the place where he had stood before the Lord." I liked this quote because it spook about how much we love God and what we would do to reach Him and His everlasting love. These videos explain that through Tradition and Scripture we have been able to communicate God's words. They also help explain that our faith needed Scripture and Traditionh to even be considered a faith.

I love God too Sam, Amanda, and Therese :,) :.)

Reply
Bradley Chapman 208
10/4/2010 09:08:39 am

Both videos were very interesting, they helped me alot with the assignment. They also helped me understand scripture and tradition even more.

Reply
Alejandra G. 215
10/4/2010 09:10:29 am

These videos helped me to better understand tradition and scripture. I like these videos because they tell us that even though those people didn't have a printing press they were still able to communicate and learn about God. Without tradition and scripture our religion wouldn't be the same. The videos were adorable!! They also helped me to answer questions on the homework worksheet.

Reply
Jasmine H. 215
10/4/2010 09:18:50 am

I liked the first video of tradition in scripture better. I like how they put the Bible verse with a picture to describe it. I'm glad people make these videos to better understand God. I hope one day more people will go to scripture and start tradition.

Reply
Jasmine H.
10/4/2010 09:19:22 am

And they did help me better understand the homework.

Reply
Erika C.-215
10/4/2010 09:25:12 am

These videos helped me understand how many traditions we have in our church. Examples- rossay, the body of Christ, and the sign of the cross. There are more but these are the ones we use the most.

Reply
Jose Diaz 208
10/4/2010 09:51:46 am

I think that it means that you should follow and obey everything in the Bible which is "Scripture" and believe in the Bible. God told Johannes to write the Bible.

Probably im not sure of that.

Reply
Alyssa Gancedo/208
10/4/2010 09:53:25 am

I liked these videos alot, but the second one spoke to me more. It helps me understand Tradition better because it shows me that even without the printing press they could still pass down tradition, it didn't have to be by writing only.

Reply
andres d-208
10/4/2010 09:56:04 am

The bible is amazing when you think about it because it was created over a period of many years yet it still makes perfect sense together. Every thing we know to day about our faith comes from the bible and tradition. Cool videos they helped with the worksheet alot.

Reply
Danny P/208
10/4/2010 10:13:40 am

I thought that the first video was a little hard to understand but i liked the second video when it said that wear out our foreheads and it is ture some of us do the sign of the cross almost three times a day and when we go to heaven God remmembers that.

Reply
Danny P/208
10/4/2010 10:15:01 am

Sorry I meant to say we wear out our foreheads with the sign of the cross.

Reply
Alejandro D 215
10/4/2010 10:20:08 am

The videos helped me alot in understanding tradition. Usually, we think of tradition of being Halloween or Thanksgiving, but don't get me wrong, they are still traditions. Other catholic traditions (I find Thanksgiving as a Christian too) such as the sign of the cross and the celebration of the mass have been practiced since very old times. The first video shows us that through scripture (a.k.a. Bible) we too can learn different practices from Jesus's time. The second video shows us many of our everyday traditions and how old they really are. My favorite quote was the one that said, " It took 400 years to compile the Bible, and another 1,000 years to invent the printing press...so..." =]

Reply
Kayla Rodriguez 208
10/4/2010 10:23:02 am

LOVED the bible quotes. Alot of them gave me a big slap in the face

In the first video a quote that caught my attention was one of the first ones;about Peter being The Rock God will build his church on. To build something, you need a good foundation. I think God was telling Peter he was the good foundation to build his church on. God isn't going to pick a non-practicing christian to be the FOUNDATION of His church. God wanted a strong, faithful, reflection of Himself to help begin His church. Also, you can look at it as us today. WE ARE tomorrow. WE ARE the foundation of our childrens church. The church isn't just magically created and is always good. WE ARE THE CHURCH

Reply
Nicole L. 215
10/4/2010 10:23:26 am

I really loved these videos becuase they helped me to understand how our religion works better. Also, it really shows how our religion is kind of based on Scripture and Tradition. These videos helped me to answer questions on the homework sheet. They were so adorable!! (:

Reply
Kayla Rodriguez 208
10/4/2010 10:28:46 am

His******** sorry again...

Reply
Justin Acosta 215
10/4/2010 10:33:36 am

the videos answered alot of question of religion in my mind. it also made me comprehend why we were doing the worksheet. i didnt know that the catholic religion was so based on tradition and scripture.

Reply
Anthony Rodriguez 208
10/4/2010 10:35:51 am

When I read the scripture's it really spoke to me, I think the meaning of these scripture's is that we have to live them out in our daily life of believing in God and this really helped me on my homework, thank you!!

P.S- im still laughing at the penguin thing on your website! TOO FUNNY!! :D

Reply
Julian Acosta 208
10/4/2010 10:46:24 am

These Videos help me understand scripture and traditions. A good example of a tradition is the communion and a good example for scripture is the Gospels of the Lord teaches us to do good in everyday life. These videos are really useful when i have trouble with a question from class or homework.

Reply
Anthony rodriguez 208
10/4/2010 10:53:13 am

i like the second video becauset it teaches us that the Bible is very important to the Catholic faith and the church. :)

Reply
anthony rodriguez 208
10/4/2010 10:55:31 am

opps, i waas just looking through the post's and i realized that i put the same as daniellla, lol we think the same. :D

Reply
Christina Franco / 208
10/4/2010 11:16:22 am

These videos helped me understand the difference between Tradition and Scripture. I find it very interesting that for many years, before the bible was written, so much information was passed down through generations by Tradition. It highlights how strong people felt about the Catholic Traditions that they passed it down for so many years. I am glad that now we have Scriptures to guide us better and helps us refer back to it. I liked the second video better because it says, “We Christians wear out our foreheads with the sign of the cross.” I like this quote because it means to me that we have followed our religion and still do some things that people used to do hundreds of years ago, such as praying the rosary, receiving the Eucharist, etc.

Reply
Monica Diaz/ 215
10/4/2010 11:19:38 am

These are the ones we did in class today. The second one spoke to me in a deeper way. I cannot wait to see what you post next!!!

Reply
Daniel Caamacho 208
10/4/2010 11:24:35 am

Both videos are very interesting,and they gave me more examples about Tradition. Now I understand much better what tradition is. I like the second one beacause it talks about catholic tradition and the bible.

Reply
Annabelle Menendez 208
10/4/2010 11:28:54 am

Both of the videos were really cool but I really liked the second one on tradition a little more, because the music was nice, and i like how it had had quotes and phrases from the bible with facts about tradition. The videos today were very interesting. :)

Reply
Lauren G/208
10/4/2010 11:50:21 am

These two videos helped me understand Tradition a lot better. But the one that stood out to me was the second one, because of the music. I also like the phrases and quotes. Loved these videos! ;)

Reply
Kendrick R. 215
10/4/2010 12:30:29 pm

These videos helped me learn more about Tradition a lot more.

The one I like best is the second one because it tells me some of the traditions back in Jesus' time. I also like this video because of the song.
"And We Will Raise You Up"
<^>_{-,-}_<^>

Reply
Steven P.
10/4/2010 08:57:03 pm

I think the second video was the best. It help me understand the meaning of tradition. I also liked the music and the bible quotes.

Reply
Victoria Lasarte 215
10/4/2010 09:10:29 pm

I liked both videos. They helped me understand the meaning of tradition and scripture. I like the second video better because it helped me understand the meaning of tradition. In addition I liked the phrases and bible quotes used.
I loved the videos!

Reply
charles gutierrez 215
10/5/2010 06:50:58 am

the videos helped me a lot on the home work assighment

Reply
Veronica Gonzalez-208
10/5/2010 08:40:28 am

Both videos were helpful to me because it helped more to understand my faith as a Catholic. The scriptures really got to me, because I know that we did them in the workshieets you gave us yesterday.

Reply
Amanda B./208
10/5/2010 09:37:26 am

I liked both videos. They helped me learn about tradition and scripture. I liked the second one better, because of the quotes and phrases. I also liked the music better in the second video.

Reply
Alex R. 208
10/5/2010 11:29:13 am

I didn't really need the videos. The Bible was more helpful.

Reply
Kory Fleming/215
10/5/2010 11:41:19 am

Both vedios were very good. They helped with the worksheet and they helped me learn about tradition and scripture.

Reply
Jordan H
10/6/2010 07:13:13 am

These videos were lots of help, thanks Mrs.B! All the verses were very nice and it helped me learn more about Tradition and Scripture.

Reply
Jordan H/208
10/6/2010 07:13:57 am

forgot my room number

Reply
LucyM 215
10/6/2010 08:48:07 am

WOW!!! At first I was sooo confused but these videos helped me alot!!!!!
=*-*=

Reply
LucyM 215
10/6/2010 08:56:17 am

God works in some strange ways and to me if you don't break it down tradition and the bible make no sense at all to me.=*-*=

Reply
Karina A. 208
10/7/2010 09:04:34 am

I think these videos helped me by telling us that there is different traditions that we should follow.They also teach us that traditions and different stories help us be better Catholics. The Bible is the main source of how we learn our traditions and the life of Jesus. Loved both videos! :)

Reply
Karina A. 208
10/7/2010 09:06:43 am

After there in the first sentence, instead of is it should be are.

Reply
Rachel M.
10/11/2010 10:38:25 am

I like these videos because they help me understand what tradition and scripture is all about. plus, i really didn't understand tradition before

Reply
Natalie Guerra : 215
10/13/2010 09:49:58 am

These videos tell us about the tradition of Scripture which is used to understand everyday life. We should keep these traditions even today to continue Gods truth . These videos are also to teach us about the many different traditions that we should keeep in the Catholic Church :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.