Today's class introduced the idea of truth in preparation for Chapter Two- The Truth Revealed. This chapter will help us to understand that through the scriptures and traditions of the church, we will always know God. There is no way to forget Him and all that He has promised us.

Nowadays, we are faced with many experiences and images that claim to be true. We are bombarded with so much information in our lives that we need to be able to distinguish truth from opinio and fact from fiction. But at the same time, we must live by God's truth, one that can never be distorted.

Attached is the video I showed in class today. Comment to this post your opinion about the media and its truths based on the clip.  Do you feel "duped" as the consumer? How can being aware of this truth (the reality behind ads) assist you in making choices?
Alessi Armengol 208
9/27/2010 06:59:13 am

Wow, that's crazy. I feel duped as the consumer, but I kind of figured that they do that. Being aware of this will help me in making choices on the products I buy and to know that what I am hearing or seeing might not be entirely true. This is really surprising.

Reply
Victoria Lasarte 215
9/27/2010 07:38:40 am

I am speechless at the transformation. I do feel duped as the customer. I always knew that they change things in media to make it "beautiful" or "prettier" but I never knew they'd go that far. This will help me in making choices on products that are advertised on TV or the internet. Now I will think twice about a commercial or add and wonder if what they're saying is completely true.
I loved the commercial! :)

Reply
Alejandra Gancedo 215
9/27/2010 09:00:06 am

Wow! I definitely feel duped becuase they are tricking us into buying something that is a total lie! Being aware of this truth will help me in making choices because it helps me to know and understand that not everything we see or read is true. This helps me to think if what people advertise is really true or not.

Reply
Erika C.-215
9/27/2010 09:28:42 am

I definity feel duped because they are telling and showing something that is pure fake! This helps me be aware of this truth in making choices because in today's media everyone is so caught up in money and having the best clothes, skin, and life but this help me realize that everything read, heard, or seen may not be always true. I really liked this video because it says to be your self and to not always believe what you read, hear, and see in the media.

Reply
andres d-208
9/27/2010 09:33:37 am

I think that everyone would feel duped after seeing this. It is unbelievable how much they stretch the truth in this add. Because now instead of seeing the real beauty in a person people will compare themselves and others to these models that aren't even real. They enhance the look of this person so people will by the product to look, feel, or act perfect, when no one can ever be perfect. The truth about this can let us know that the effects of the product are very exaggerated. Thanks Mrs.B for showing us this.

Reply
Alyssa Gancedo/208
9/27/2010 10:34:16 am

Yes, I feeled duped. People will do anything to get more money, that is why people stretch the truth so much. Because of these ads that are stretching the truth people are not seeing the real beauty in a person. People are only seeing the outer beauty because of these ads and not seeing the inner beauty of a person. This video tells us to make smarter decisions on what we buy and that almost every ad makes people different than who they really are. Now, only God can see the real beauty in a person without photoshopping their looks.

Reply
Karina A. 208
9/27/2010 10:51:56 am

I can't believe this! I now understand how something so real can turn into something so false. Now people see these ads and think that this model is so beautiful and start to change themselves. They want to change themselves by what they see and not realize that this is not how the person really looks. We need to comprehend that the truth of this video is that all they did was fix up the person's face to be a completely a different person. The real truth is the realness of a person, action, or object. False is just an excuse for the truth so that people don't realize how God made you. Now I know that the media fools us and tries to make us just think that this ad is real. P.s. I love the explanation of this video :)

Reply
Christina Franco / 208
9/27/2010 11:18:04 am

As a consumer, I feel totally duped. I think anyone who sees this ad will feel the same way I feel. I expected that the product would work and it would make the model look better, because that is the purpose of the product. I feel that they went too far in changing the model’s image with the computer. It is okay to show how the model looks with the make up and how it can make someone else look better, but when they used the computer, they created an image that can not be obtained by using the product. Also they are not really showing someone’s natural beauty when using the computer to make her seem 'prettier', or 'more perfect'. I think the model looked beautiful without having to 'fix her up' with the computer. Now I will think twice before buying a product like this.

Reply
Christina Franco / 208
9/27/2010 11:23:05 am

Testing....

Reply
Jasmine H. 215
9/27/2010 11:34:01 am

I feel duped because the make this girl look BEAUTIFUL but under all that makeup she's just like every other woman. I feel like the people who make these products are all in it for the money. It should be about natural beauty. I would've put the model with no make-up on billboard. Being aware can show us that not everything you hear is true and sometimes even seeing it on a commercial is not even real. It's disappointing that they make something like it's not. It's kinda like a scam. It's crazyyyyyy!!!

Reply
Nicole Leon 215
9/27/2010 11:53:19 am

Yes, I feel totally "duped" as everyone said. I always knew that they tweaked the way people looked to make them seem "perfect" in the eyes of the consumers but this is insane. In this example, the lady does not even look like the same person which makes me a little upset. But now i will think twice and know how people really will trick you just for the money. I loved this video (: This is all a lie to make people look at themselves and think they are not "beautiful enough".

Reply
Steven P.208
9/27/2010 09:01:40 pm

I cant believe that they do that for every magazine picture just so people feel bad for them self so then they buy this product that does not work all it does is was our money. I think we are all beautiful in side us because God made each one of us special. Yes, i fell dump because i will never look at magazine picture same way.

Reply
GabyA.208
9/28/2010 03:29:33 am

This is sad:( i cant believe that they do all of this to show "beauty".I feel so dumbed as a consumer I mean we are all created differently because God made us that way so, are they saying that a creation for GOD is not good enough so they have to feel it so it looks completely different?Thats just pathetic we are all beautiful in our own way:) loved the commercial by the way

Reply
Lauren G. / 208
9/28/2010 05:56:50 am

Wow! I cant believe this!! I feel totally "duped". They seriously did way to much to this model. They want to make it seem that this model is gorgeous when really its all just photoshop. This video helps me to understand that not everything you see or hear is the truth. Now every time I look at an add I think if it is really true! By the way, great video!! :D

Reply
9/28/2010 07:06:43 am

I feel duped when I see this video. And just like it said in the video, no wonder our perception of beauty is distorted. If we were all made in God's image and likeness, then every time you try to change the way someone looks, it's kind of like your saying, "God, I don't like your creation." The people who do change the pictures make being beautiful impossible. Next time you see a commercial, think about it before you buy it.

Reply
Tommy B/215
9/28/2010 07:59:17 am

Omg that's is soo crazy and yes I am "duped" first you have an ugly woman but after all that she is like one of those pritty models. I learned that you can't trust anything like pictures or even words in the radio because is it the truth or not,the world may never know

Reply
Daniella M. 215
9/28/2010 08:24:11 am

When i saw this video i felt "duped". You have this normal women you see with no make-up on and then how they transform her into how she doesn't look with all the touch ups and the lifting. I think they did too much photoshop on her. And I learned that not everything I see is true.

Reply
Amanda Suarez-208
9/28/2010 08:32:32 am

When I saw this video I did feel "duped" because so many pretty young women and girls try to be so "beautiful" as this lady. All they do is make her better she was just an average person like most people, but they made her into this super model. The best beauty is inner beauty, no matter what anyone says you are beautiful, just like the song says by P!nk (yes that is how you spell it).I told mrs.Beadel yesterday that my cousin(not Tommy) saw a video I don't think it is on youtube that all companies must say the truth so researchers went to a billboard and in small prints it said this is photo shopped. If someone says that you are not beautiful that is a lie because God made us perfectly in image.

Reply
Amanda Suarez-208
9/28/2010 08:37:02 am

sorry, after "duped" there should be a comma.After "All they do is make her better"there should be a commma.The m in Mrs. Beadel should be capatolized.After video there should be a comma again, and perfectly should be perfect. Sorry, about this. Hope you are all safed during the storm. :)

Reply
Therese C. 215
9/28/2010 09:41:39 am

I feel duped and am totally amazed at this video. It is super cool because at first it's just a normal woman who is beautiful on the inside and some people don't see it on the outside. Then, they do all of this photoshoping and touchups on her and she's ultra-gorgeous! I learned that you shouldn't believe everything you see on billboards, on television, or in ads!

Reply
charelesg 215
9/28/2010 09:44:23 am

when i saw that i felt duped beacuse it was a ugly girl with no makeup and nothing on then she turned into a beautifal girl. what liers some pepole can be. i cant bilive pepole do that stuff

Reply
VICTORIA ROQUE 208
9/28/2010 09:53:49 am

I THINK THAT IT IS SO FAKE AND HOW THAT PEOPLE AND EVEN ME OUR DUPED IN BUYING A PRODUCT THAT REALY IS JUST ON THE COVER OF AN EDITED GIRL. WHAT THEY ARE TRYING TO DO IS GO AGAINST GOD AND SAY THAT HE WASN'T THE BEST INVENTOR OF THIS GIRL. I PERSONALY THINK SHE IS MUCH PRETTIER WITHOUT THE MAKE-UP BECAUSE THAT IS WHO SHE TRULY IS!

Reply
Amanda B./208
9/28/2010 10:29:22 am

When I see this video I feel “duped”. I can’t believe how they are tricking us into buying something that doesn’t even work like they say they do. Now, I know that I can’t trust most advertisements. I’m definitely going to think twice before I buy something that makes too many promises. Thank you for making me aware of this. :)

Reply
Danny P 208
9/28/2010 10:40:31 am

I dont like the part when they put the ladies face on the computer and changed it all, God made us all beautiful and he loves us exactly how he made us and yesterday Alex R said that when they showed the poster they put the word false and that makes a good point because the person on the poster is false.

Reply
Victoria J 208
9/28/2010 12:25:07 pm

Yes, I am duped because the people tried to make that girl seem perfect when really she isn't and they were also trying to make that girl the prettiest girl ever. Then other girls think that that is the way we are all suppose to look like and try to be perfect. But really God is the only one that is perfect and people just keep trying to be better than him and it is possible. But to God we are all beautiful. : )

Reply
Joseph B. 208
9/28/2010 09:21:07 pm

If I were the consumer I would think wow she is really pretty, but if you actually saw the transformation you would probably would feel duped.

Reply
Alejandro D. 215
9/29/2010 06:11:21 am

I kind of feel duped because all the make up and stuff covered up her face and made her pretty, but then I don't because I know in my heart that material things can't make our life better. Only God can make our life better. If we didnt have God, all of us would look the same and talk the same and like the same ect. If we belive in God, then we would look like that on the inside. The outside isnt what matters. It's the inside that counts for the blue ribbon.

Reply
anthony r. 208
9/29/2010 07:49:39 am

now that i saw this video, i realize that every one in those magazine's that look amazing are not who they really are. btw i feel duped, almost evryone in this blog posted that they feel duped lol :D

Reply
Michael B 208
9/29/2010 08:18:16 am

i feel duped because noone is in magazines appears to be who they are. if we buy their products they are kind of making us buy a lie. they expect people to be someone else.

Reply
Rachel M.
9/29/2010 10:52:36 am

i feel duped because they are tring to sell a lie. they are not tryin, but suceding in selling us a lie! they are selling us a lie, and we dont see it!!!

( p.s. why is everyone saying 'duped'?)
(p.s.s. why am i the only girl writing today?????)

Reply
Rachel M. 215
9/29/2010 10:53:49 am

i made alot of mistakes in this.




above.

Reply
Mrs. Beadel
9/29/2010 11:02:34 am

Great comments so far, everyone! The grades for this closed yesterday.

Rachel, all students are expected to check the blog each day. I haven't posted a new piece yet because I am waiting to get through enough notes. Everyone is using "duped" because it was in my original question. It means "tricked". But thanks for reading everyone's comments! :)

Reply
Julian Acosta 208
10/2/2010 03:57:47 am

I am sorry I am doing this late but i do feel doped in this video because God made everybody real and they made this ordinary lady different. i'm so sorry for not checking the website. plz give me some credit Mrs.Beadel, this a mistake i will learn from.

Reply
Alexa Cruz/215
10/2/2010 10:05:05 am

Sorry, I know I am doing this late, but I know by now it closed, but i learned my lesson and will start checking the website more.Yes, as the consumer I do feel duped because they changed her look completely. They are advertising it to us,but streching the truth. I don't think this video is really stating the truth about how you will look after because if you use the soap yes, they are saying you get clean, but you will not look like that. By knowing the truth we can know which products work and which products are just downright fake. Once again I am sorry I posted late, but I still wanted to know if I could get a little credit.

Reply
Bradley Chapman 208
10/2/2010 10:56:20 pm

I know i'm really late for this but I feel used just to buy something then realize that it doesn't do what it was claimed to do. In the marketing world its filled with people who just want to lie to you to make money. Again I am sorry for turning this in really late, but could I at least get a little credit.

Reply
Jonathan Sardina HR:215
10/4/2010 06:08:38 am

Sorry Mrs. Beadel for writing this late from now on I will check this website every day and the video is 100% true big companies really do edit and PHOTOSHOP PEOPLE TO MAKE YOU BUY THERE PRODUCTS.

Reply
Jose Diaz 208
10/4/2010 09:48:15 am

Sorry I did it so late but yeah I was tricked how they can take someone that looks bad and make them look amazing or really good. But it is just make-up and that is how they sell there products.

Reply
Kayla Rodriguez 208
10/4/2010 10:13:47 am

Yes, i know. I am verry late. I agree with Alexa, lesson learned and I will start checking the website more.

Most of us are almost teenagers, we are constantly being surrounded by bad or fake influences. We to be aware of our surroundings and decifer whether or not something is real. Fake advertistment isn't only wrong because they aren't selling what they promise and are filling kids heads with garbage; but it's against God in a way. What they did to that woman wasn't right. They changed something beautiful God made, digitally enhanced it, and are telling children "this is how you need to look". That's not how we have to look.

Reply
Kayla Rodriguez 208
10/4/2010 10:14:48 am

need to be*

Reply
monica Diaz/ 215
10/4/2010 11:09:26 am

Sorry!!! Haven't been checking website for a while..

I feel duped because as a consumer I buy a LOT of fashion items. Sadly, my hair doesn't have a fan, my eyes don't have mascara, etc.

Reply
Veronica Gonzalez
10/5/2010 08:34:59 am

I'm sorry, i also did this late, but i must say i do feel shocked becasue the people are just trying to come up with buissness products to make you want to buy them, and they make it so then she didn't. They also changed her hair & used photoshop to make look "perfect".

Reply
Marlon Garcia 215
10/6/2010 07:45:40 am

I feel kind of duped and shocked that people want money so badly that they are willing to trick people into a product just by lies and computer animating and stuff such as that.

Reply
Kendrick r. 215
10/6/2010 09:11:39 am

I DO FEEL DOPED BECAUSE PEOPLE JUST TELL LIES AND SHOW SOMEONE THATS NOT REALLY. THEY PUT MAKE UP THEN THEY USE COMPUTER ANIMATED STUFF. HOW ASHAME.

Reply
anthony m 215
10/9/2010 11:45:17 pm

wow I really feel good now I mean right now my dad is in a lot of pain and I am too just watching him and these videos really soothe everthing hurting me.

Reply
anthony 215
10/9/2010 11:59:21 pm

now i see this dove video and it makes me think of all the women who are buying these products and thinking of how beautiful they are going to look, when in reality it makes their character even more gullible and until they see this video they are going to buy more products and then turn into a disease and once the disease starts to spread to other people they are going to do the same.

Reply
Rachel Mertel 215
10/11/2010 10:45:29 am

i like the real girl much better. i think her true beauty looks better than some guys modified version, which makes her have a round face, and the neck of a giraffe!


RACHEL G. MERTEL!

Reply
Kory Fleming/215
10/28/2010 08:06:54 am

It is showing the real beauty is better than the fake.

Reply



Leave a Reply.