Picture
Good evening, fellow 7th graders!

Here is a list on concepts to be familiar with to prepare for Thursday's test:

- The four lessons and highlighted material from your notes.
- Your Chapter 10 Assessment sheet (this is tomorrow's homework)
- Bible stories: Walking on Water, Calming of the Storm, The Paralytic, Bartimaeus, the Blind Man, Unforgiving Servant
- The 12 Apostles and their responsibilities
- Ways to heal and forgive others like Jesus did
- Reason why Jesus performed miracles
- Definitions: Sabbath, faith, apostles, 
- Differences and similarities between apostles and disciples
 

And to make your life a bit easier, click this link here to take a practice quiz.


Respond to this post by Thursday at midnight. You may use a story not read in class:
 What do the healing/ miracle stories mean to you personally? Is there one you especially relate to? What elements from the stories can symbolize issues and circumstances we face today?


Jasmine H. 215
4/5/2011 09:35:26 am

Good Evening Mrs.Beadel. I like the story of Peter and the apostles in the boat. I think that story relates to me. First off, Peter knew Jesus. He had already been chosen as an apostle. I already know Jesus, and know he's there. Even though Peter knew Jesus (like in the flesh), he questioned Jesus, he put Jesus to the test. Physically as humans, we question Jesus all the time. Asking, "but why?" and "how can you do this to me?" Peter says, "Lord, if it's you, tell me to come to you on the water." Jesus told Peter to come, so he listened and came, but then once he started to walk on the water he thought he would sink. Just like that, in an instant he lost his faith in Jesus. The same things can happen to us, we find ourselves in the happiest of times, but we want to make sure that it's real so we put Jesus to the test and say "Jesus, if this is real, send me a sign, prove it to me." So Jesus might send us a sign, and in an instant, if it looks to dangerous or to good to be true, we lose our faith in him and drown, just like Peter did. But of course Jesus being that utmost powerful, wonderful, forgiving man, comes to our aid to save us. Basically, in life we face difficult decisions, hard moments, and happy times, but every single thing that happens to us in life no matter what it is, we must continue to live by our faith. We must not doubt, nor question. Just listen and believe.

Reply
Marlon G
4/5/2011 09:43:22 am

HELLO (pointless comment)

Reply
Erika C.-215
4/5/2011 10:01:41 am

The healing and miracles stories mean to me, personally, that Jesus is always going to forgive you when you have "returned home" or come back to Him. If you come with a sorrowful heart and have faith in Him, He will forgive you and heal you if you have a sincere heart.

The story that I can relate to is the story of the Walking on Water. Sometimes, we lose faith and trust in God and forget He is always there protecting us and watching us. The elements from the stories can symbolize issues and circumstances we face today by showing us that today we still face these challenges that they did even when Jesus was there, physically. We lose faith and blame it all on God.

Reply
GabyA/208
4/5/2011 10:19:50 am

Hi Mrs.Beadle!Well to answer your first question to me personally I think they all refer to us at sometimes in life.Like Peter and the boat he didn't believe and he almost drowned or the blind man like we are sometimes blind in our faith. We are all in some way Peter and Bartiumus we doubt and are blind in spirit and the worst most sad part about that is even when we are bind and doubt God never is and he will always help us through that time.

I think that the story I relate to is the story of The Blind Man.In this healing/miracle I am the blind man blind in other things that don't have to do with my faith and people try to keep my like that like the ones who told the blind man(I forgot his name)to leave to go those who don't want my to have a faith who want me to pick the wrong path of life they want to keep me back from the Lord but,Jesus calls him just like he calls me through the sound of all the negativity in my life and He tries to help me "see" again.
For the last one I think that I kinda explained it in the second one :D have a great evening:)

Reply
Steven P. 208
4/5/2011 11:01:41 am

The story I think I can relate to is Jesus walks on water because in this story we need to trust Jesus and sometimes I act like Peter and I don't trust Him and I lose faith but, then class i learned that we need to always have faith in Jesus. This problem doesn't just affect me it affects lots of other people too.

The healing/miracle personally means to me that Jesus was there to forgive you and help others in need. If you ask Jesus for forgiveness and u are truly sorry then Jesus will forgive you. Jesus would help others so probably the healing/miracle story is a example that Jesus wants you to do for others.

Reply
Kendrick R. 215
4/5/2011 11:05:13 am

What do the healing/ miracle stories mean to you personally? Is there one you especially relate to? What elements from the stories can symbolize issues and circumstances we face today?

Hello Mrs. Beadel!
The healing/ miracle stories mean a lot to me. They taught me to forgive others and how to make my faith stronger with God.
The Walking on Water relates to me because I usually look down at my problems as Peter looked down at the water and was scared and almost drowned from lack of faith. The water and the wind from Walking on Water can symbolize our distraction, our problems, our sins, and other things we put on front of God. Wish you luck on the 8th grade play! :)

Reply
Alexa C./215
4/5/2011 12:10:34 pm

The healing and miracle stories really mean alot to me, because most of them I can relate too. Most stories are about people getting cleansed and forgiven. I'm just like those people always begging for forgiveness and Jesus,(being so forgiving), always forgives me. They teach me that always be a good Catholic, focus on God, and try to strengthen your faith and you will be forgiven.

One story I can relate to, is the Healing of a Deaf Man. I can relate to this story because I think faithwise right now I'm deaf. I think I'm deaf in my faith because I'm not evangilizing enough. I am not focused on God, but the fact that I'm deaf. Once we get to Heaven I think the people who evangelized and focused on strengthing their faith will be cured of their muteness. The others who justed focused on being deaf will not and will always be deaf.

I think the element of being deaf in the story symbolizes our problems, sins, and our position in faith. I think being cleansed represents if we will be forgiven and excepted into Heaven.

Reply
Alexa C/215
4/5/2011 12:13:21 pm

Sorry, istead of -They teach me that always be a good Catholic... It should be -They teach me to always be a good Catholic.

Reply
Christina F. / 208
4/5/2011 12:21:29 pm

The healing story ‘The Cleansing of Ten Lepers’ (Luke 17:11-19) is most meaningful to me in several ways. This story is about ten lepers who asked Jesus to cure them, when cured, only one of the ten lepers returned to show his gratitude. I think we often ask Jesus for help, and then we forget to thank Him; we assume that it was meant to be. In today’s society the same is true with some; from the simple example of when someone asks to borrow a pen, and forgets to thank the person after using it, to thanking the priest and all who participate and make the mass possible. Many just assume that it is the priest’s obligation to conduct the mass, and they do not stop to speak and thank the priest for his service.

I connect to this story in my own life because while growing up, my parents would always tell me to say please and thank you, even for the minor things in life. They thought me to appreciate what others do for me and to let them know how I feel and how much I appreciate what they did. Who knows, maybe you might make someone’s day a little bit happier if you say thank you and acknowledge that you do appreciate them. Never miss the opportunity to thank and let others know how you feel; later might be too late, and the opportunity might not come again. Saying thank you is the best way to respond to random acts of kindness. So Mrs. Beadel, I would like to say thank you for your time and all the things you have thought me this year. You are very much appreciated.

Reply
Amanda S.-208
4/5/2011 12:32:34 pm

What do the healing/ miracle stories mean to you personally? Is there one you especially relate to? What elements from the stories can symbolize issues and circumstances we face today?
-The healing/miracle stories to me mean that if you give Jesus and God your problems they will be solved. These people asked Jesus to help them so they may follow. Before they had the miracle performed maybe not all of them were disciples of Jesus. But when it was performed they saw that Jesus was the son of God. They followed and they were spreaders of the good news.
-I can especially relate to the one of where Jesus cured Peter’s mother-in-law from her illness. I can relate to this because when I was extremely young (three or four) my grandmother (Mimi as some of you may know her), was pronounced with breast cancer. Even when she was at her worst she cooked and cared for everyone in the family. The doctors said that the cancer was very bad. But she still prayed to God. The doctors said she needed emergency surgery. After surgery she was back on her feet in a matter of weeks. The doctors said it was a miracle. And she cared for my family even more than ever.
-They symbolize hardship and temptation but also peace, hope, and love. Under circumstances, we must follow the examples from the disciples that were healed by Jesus. They understood what He did and shared it with the rest of the world. Just like they gave their problems to Jesus and let them go we must do the same to be healed and rescued.

Reply
M.Diaz/215
4/6/2011 04:57:00 am

The miracle/healing stories mean a lot to me because they show how faith can save us. I think the story I relate to the most is the story of Peter annd Jesus Walking on Water. I relate to Peter, doubting Jesus and God's powers. It applies today because people are constantly doubting. We think there must be a catch or an ulterior motive. People believe and trust God less and less. We also blame Him blame for things that aren't His fault (i.e.: death, bad grades, etc.). We really need to have some faith.

Reply
Anthony Rodriguez 208
4/6/2011 06:06:17 am

I think the miracle/healing stories mean alot to me because it shows how our Lord can do many wonderful things such as walk on water, and cure the blind. I think the story i can relate to the most is the one with peter and Jesus walking on water. I can sometimes be Peter when I am stepping away from God little by little mostly on the weekends, when all I think about is games and relaxing. It applies today because as people start to stress over something or doubt the Lord, it becomes a problem. Thats why Jesus is always telling us to speard the news of the Lord.

Reply
Alejandra G./215
4/6/2011 06:27:50 am

The miracle/healing stories are very inspiring and mean a lot to me because it shows us how humble, caring, and forgiving Jesus is to others. The stories make us think for a moment and wonder how we can be more like Jesus. These stories have many good and powerful messages that we can all learn from. The best part of all the miracles Jesus did is that he didn't do it for popularity or attention, but rather to help others. I relate to many stories, but the one that I relate to the most is the Walking on Water. I can relate to this story because the Apostles were afraid and doubted Jesus just like I doubt Jesus and God sometimes. In this story, Peter tested Jesus by saying, "Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water." I have tested God many times throughout my life and I know that we shouldn't because if it is according to God's will, then it will happen. Peter started to sink and doubted Jesus. Jesus is such of a good person that he caught Peter and saved him. This story teaches me that we should always help and forgive others. We also shouldn't put God to the test. The elements in the story that symbolizes issues and circumstances we face today is the fact that the Apostles were afraid and Peter doubted Jesus. All of us here on Earth have been either afraid or doubted Jesus at some point of our life even though Jesus isn't here physically.

Reply
Lauren / 208
4/6/2011 06:34:01 am

I think the miracle/healing stories mean a lot to me because it shows that Jesus/God can do anything in the world. At one point in our lives, these stories will relate to us. I believe the story I relate to the most is the story of Jesus walking on water. I think that sometimes I act like Peter. I sometimes lost my faith and forget that He is always there to protect me and lead me into the right path. The elements in this story symbolize issues and circumstances we face today by showing that even Jesus' 12 Apostles faced the same issues we face today. That we sometimes forget who Jesus is and we lose our faith. We sometimes blame God for our mistakes, but we should be blaming ourselves. We need to have more faith in our lives.

Reply
AANNDDRREESS DD - 220088
4/6/2011 06:35:04 am

I think the "walking on water" is an amazing story. It shows not only how Jesus can walk on water (because we hear it all the time "Jesus can do anything"), but that we, as human beings can do the same with His help. If we worry about the worldly things, like the wind, and not God, then we can't do amazing things. But once we call out to Jesus for help, He will reach out His hand and raise you up to do anything.

Reply
Victoria L. 215
4/6/2011 06:47:52 am

I think that the miracle/healing stories are important in today's society. They are great examples of the saying "With God nothing is impossible." Even though these miracles happened over 2,000 years ago they still having meaning in our lives today. The miracle that stands out the most to me is The Healing of a Boy with a Demon (Matthew 17 14:21). In this miracle a father comes to Jesus saying that his son is crazy. He also says that he already went to the Apostles but none of them could cure his son. Then Jesus tells the man to bring his son and Jesus cures him. The Apostles asked Jesus why they were unable to cure the boy and Jesus told them because of their little faith. I think this story is important because it shows that we must have faith in God because with faith and God anything is possible. This story relates to me because sometimes I am so stressed about homework that I forget to let go and let God. I feel that in order to accomplish our goals we first must have faith. However my favorite present day miracle was the Miracle on the Hudson. I thought that that miracle was needed in order for us to focus back on God. These are two of my favorite miracles.

Reply
Tommy B-215
4/6/2011 06:53:34 am

I think that Jesus' miracles help us relate in our lives today because all these people that think the could do anything really can't because to me I think they can't walk on water, make a blind person see again, or even make a paralyzed person walk again You see with Jesus' miracles we could see how he was able to do the impossible. A good parable that I liked was the one that Jesus helped Peter walk on water because Peter didn't have faith but Jesus lead him in the right direction. When Peter was sinking he prayed for Jesus to save him and Jesus on the water helped him, even though he didn't have faith Jesus gave Peter his hand and helped him. I think that maybe one day Jesus will give us his hand when we need it.

Reply
Jordan H-208
4/6/2011 06:55:19 am

I belive that the "walking on water" is one great bible story. Because it shows that not only was Jesus human but he was divine because he walked on water. Well i belive that this story relates to me and alot of other people. One because i think i act like peter many times i sometimes lose my faith and forget that Jesus is there to help, protect and guide you. The elements in this story symbolize issues and circumstances we face today by showing that even Jesus' 12 apostles to lost thier faith like we do today many times. And if we only find Jesus and ask for help he will raise you up to accomplish anything. WE JUST GOT TO HAVE FAITH!!!!!!

Reply
Daniella M./215
4/6/2011 07:08:04 am

The miracle and healing stories mean a lot to me. It shows us how happy, respectful, kind, and forgiving Jesus was to others. These stories make us wanna live better and live like Jesus. These stories teach me to be closer to God, strengthening my faith, turning to God before anyone else when something bad happens, and always remember God. All of these stories have great messages to follow like, Jesus does this just to help others and nothing in return. I can relate to the story about walking on water. I relate to this story mostly because in class when the guys did the skit thing, in my head I was like I would have doubted Jesus and not trust him just like the Apostles did. What happened in this story is doubting and trusting. Jesus had told Peter to trust him and walk on water with the help of him and Peter was scared. Peter started to sink because of that. But Jesus saved him. This story teaches me never to doubt, just trust. The elements in this story that symbolizes issues and circumstances we face are blaming God and others for our mistakes. Like, why God, why me. Also us sinning. Hopefully he will cleanse our sins and forgive us for our wrong.

Reply
Danny P.208
4/6/2011 07:13:02 am

I believe that "the walking on the water" story is very easy to relate to our lives. like the broom that Mrs Beadel showed us. At that time when Jesus called Peter out to walk to him on on the water, Peter was looking down on the broom and he collapsed, but when Jesus said to take his hand Peter was able to get up and walk to Jesus. So the main messages here are to keep looking up and letting God you'll be pretty good, but if you look down at all the bad and not letting God you'll have a hard time and you'lll struggle in life. So my message is let go and let God.

Reply
Amanda D. 215
4/6/2011 07:25:07 am

I think the "Walking on Water" was an amazing story because it shows me that I shouldn't be afraid of the unknown when God is with me (he always is). I need to trust that Jesus will be there to raise me up and catch me if I fall down. This miracle really relates to me because when I'm afraid or stressed out I forget to let go and let God help me. I need to have faith in order for Him to " heal me."

Reply
Marlon G 215
4/6/2011 07:30:47 am

I think that the miracles/healing are proof that God does exists. To Bring Faith to the faithless and to enhance their lives.

My favorite miracle is, "Jesus walking on Water." The reason I like this miracle is because of the message. I think that Peter in this story is a normal person like you and me. The waves are distractions such as money and objects, and when Peter didn't focus on Jesus and only look at himself and the waves he sank. Sinking is like going to hell. But Jesus never gives up on you. He always has his hand out to help you. Its your choice if you want to take it.



Reply
Alejandro D. 215
4/6/2011 07:32:24 am

I think that there are so many bible stories that probably relate to my life, but I think that I will choose the parable of the lost sheep. I can relate to it because I tend to veer off away from God and I feel His cane pulling me back in the form of my parents. I think this is one of the most common stories that we can relate to in our lives because many of us tend to follow the bad and materialistic things in are life. We will do anything to gain reputation or win a free i pad, but when we do these things we do not notice that we are walking away from the herd and eventually we end up lost in the mountains with wolves and coyotes licking their chops right before our eyes. In life, Gods cane can be a billboard,(the ones we saw in class)a person, or an event.

Reply
Alejandro D. 215
4/6/2011 07:37:23 am

Spelled i pad wrong I-Pad. I'm sorry but I left out the part on how they influence me. I think that parables and miracles are there because they show us how we are in daily life and how we forget God so much, yet he never forgets us. I also think that through these miracles/parables, we learn that we should be better people and we should forgive others as much as possible.

Reply
Justin A 215
4/6/2011 07:40:39 am

This miracles and works of healing affect my life when i read them. like to me the most interesting stories in the bible are in Jesus' ministries. i personally think the miracles and his works of healing mean a lot to me because it really gives me faith when read about his miracles and healing works. He is the man everyone should talk about 24/7.

Reply
Julian A. 208
4/6/2011 07:47:43 am

I think this story relates to me when Jesus is walking on water. The apostles were terrified and had no faith when Jesus was walking on water. Especially Simon Peter and he doubts Jesus Christ.

This could relate to me when Something horrible happens to me and I'm like "why God, Why me!" then i saw i thought you are always there. I'm doubting HIm there. It is wrong but at the end of the day God makes everything happen for a reason. Just like you demonstrated in class with the broom we have to look up at God instead at looking down. We always have to have faith in God and in Christ.

Reply
Daniel C, 208
4/6/2011 08:02:33 am

I think the story about "Jesus walking on water" is the one who means to me the most. Because it shows me how Jesus is human and divine. It also gives us an example of how God is there to help us in our problems, but he will be there only if we trust him and have faith in him. This story also shows us how Peter doubted about Jesus. Sometimes we do that and that is because we dont have faith in him. But if we just let go and let God stay with us, our problems will be gone because God is the one who will be there for us.

Reply
Nicole 215
4/6/2011 08:13:06 am

The miracle/healing stories are inspiring for me and mean a lot to me because forgiving,caring, respectful, and understanding Jesus was to others. They give us a perfect example of what we should be. Also, I can relate to some of these stories and the ones I can't, I probably will be able to relate to at one point in my life. The story that I would think relates to me the most at this time in my life, is the story about "doubting" Peter in the boat. When Jesus calls out to him and he thinks he will sink because he doesn't rust Jesus. At times, I am just like Peter. Jesus hand picked me and He expects me to trust Him. However, at times I am so absorbed with "me" , that I forget about Him. Then, when I am actually sinking and I need Him, I remember and call out, or pray, to Jesus. The elements that symbolize issues and circumstances we face today is that it shows how we doubt Jesus and each other. We face the problem of lack of trust and wanting to do everything ourselves. We need to learn to trust Jesus and other people in our world today. Most importantly, we must let go and let God and remember He is always there to catch us. He is always right behind us in case we need His help. We can not only remember Him in great times of trouble, but we must always remember to thank him for being there in those times of need and the times when everything is fine.

Reply
Nicole 215
4/6/2011 08:14:54 am

sorry, *trust Jesus

Reply
Veronica G. 208
4/6/2011 08:17:35 am

These stories relate to me because the people being healed in the stories were tested of their faith in God and we are somehow challenged by our faith sometimes, and we must say, "Yes, I believe in God." Someday in your life, you will be tested of your faith, by a stranger, by a teacher, or even by your friends and family too. Now I'm not saying that people can't be trusted, but you need too choose your friends wisely, so you know that they support you and care about you and love you. Anyway, when I was at Dade Christian, I was completely surrounded by Baptists, who would at times question my faith as a Catholic. Did I deny myself a Catholic, NO I did not, I embraced it, and they think that we "worship states" it's ridiculous I would say, but fortunately, there were few Catholics at that school. On topic, I was tested for my faith as Catholic and I learned to say "yes" to God like that girl from the book "She Said Yes." So pretty much EVERYONE is testesd for their faith. Sometimes, I guess, God kind of tries to reinforce our faith by "using" other people in a way to test us. In our class, you (Mrs. Beadel) were talking about how God uses other people to test our faith like that story where you said that this man didn't accept anybody's help and kept saying, "God's going to help me" and ended up dying and doubting God in Heaven and God responded to Him that He saved him about three times in different forms of people. The point is, we can't doubt God, we just can't because God is going to put us to the testand we have to pass with an A+, not an F- in "failure of faith." Amen I say to you. Peace, :), and <3

Reply
Veronica G. 208
4/6/2011 08:22:50 am

Hello Mrs. Beadel,:),<3, I meant to put "staues" instead of "states" so sorry. Peace, :), <3, GOD

Reply
Charles G 215
4/6/2011 09:05:21 am

The healing/miracle stories mean to me that God is always their to help you. Like when you try to do something by yourself and not let God help you thats when you have trouble in your life. Like when one of the apostels walked on water with Jesus and when he started to look down and he started sinking. Thats when we have to let go and let Jesus help us.

Reply
Sam D.215
4/6/2011 09:12:36 am

HHHEEELLLOOO!! Mrs. Beadel haha thanks for telling us what to study i hope it helps. To answer your first question personally i think that they all refer to us sometime in our life. Its like the story of the blind man, we are all ssoo blind to the right path in our life we always see the bad side but we never try to see the good. the thing we should worry about the most ids us doubting God, not God doubting us because God will always have faith in us but the sad part is, is that we should have faith because God is always here for us.

I think that I relate to jesus walking on water. I dont have enough faith in Him, thats my problem i over think and do things. I'm always worried what if ... what will happen ... should i do that... . I'm getting better at having faith sometimes we just need to let go of our problems and have faith that God will make everything fall into place.

Reply
Sam D.215
4/6/2011 09:18:41 am

Sorry i meant to say this the last post. We don't always do what we say on this blog we say alot of stuff but it shows that what we say we DON'T mean. alot of us are people that know exactly the perfect words to say, but you don't exactly care/want/know how to do it maybe if we forgive more and trust more we would have ALOT less problems in the world.

Peace . Pray . love . Cheer . happiness . Football :<

Reply
Michael B. 208
4/6/2011 09:45:44 am

I relate to the stories of healing the sick. I was very little when I got cancer.I remember my mother praying for a miracle.I remember her using holy water too.I believe God performed a miracle on me. I have faith that he will always be with me.That even if a have a small doubt sometime, he will save me like he did with Peter. He will always be there to rescue and save me.

Reply
Jose D/ 208
4/6/2011 10:13:52 am

I think the "walking on water" is a really good story because it shows that Jesus is always with you so all you have to do is have your trust in Him because he never fails you ever ever. It shows the way he is the only one that can walk on water but if he helps you, then you can do anything but you have to have all your faith in Him. I think Peter should've trusted Jesus because if he would've followed or had faith in Jesus he would've never sunk. That is why you have to have all your faith in Jesus to help you.

Reply
Justin a 215
4/6/2011 10:25:09 am

Ohh mrs beadel you diddnt give me chapter 10 study guide sheet, and i forgot to post about the walking in the water video. this video reminds me about us present day people, we just lose faith and thats when everything goes bad, thats what happen to simon (peter).

Reply
Karyna P. 215
4/6/2011 10:41:30 am

I think the story of Jesus healing the blind has the most to do with today. Today, people are religiously blind or "lukewarm" because they don't look for Jesus or don't care to see Him. People need to open their eyes and hearts to God and the world will be a better place.

Reply
Alex R. 208
4/6/2011 10:50:50 am

I can relate to the story about Simon/Peter questioning Jesus when Jesus asked him to walk on the water with Him. I can relate to this because I, like Peter find it hard to trust my faith in times of need. This story teaches me to trust Jesus when He reaches out to me. Thank you for the practice quiz.

Reply
Mae-Lynn F. 208
4/6/2011 10:59:29 am

Well to me, I think that healing/miracle stories are most of the time have to do with life. Even modern life like today, even though the bible was written thousands of years ago. Like the story of The Prodicle son. One of the sons wanted their inheritanceand wanted to be on his own and left alone. This part is like when we only pray when we need God. But when we don't need him we turn away from him. When the son had no more money left, he had no were to go. When he came back home he saw his father with open arms and he accepted his son back home. That is like when we are going through hardships and trageties and we need someone to go to. But we all know for a fact that God (the Father) will always accept us back.

Reply
Joseph B. 208
4/6/2011 11:00:41 am

I think that the healing and forgiveness stories are something we can learn from. We should learn from these stories by forgiving and forgetting and helping others when they are in need. I can relate to the story of the walking on the water. I can relate to the part when Jesus saves Peter from drowning. This is what happened. When I was little we went to Mcdonalds for lunch. You know we were little we couldn't resist the playground outside. So I went into the tubes, but then I got lost and I started to cry. My then da da da daaaaaaaaaa! My brother comes in finds me and leads me to the slide. I never went back again. I think we face the issue of believing someone when they say that they are something or maybe did something or say something.

Mrs. Beadel I can tell it is getting close to watching that video I shared with you!

Reply
Amanda B./208
4/6/2011 11:32:21 am

The healing/ miracle stories that means the most to me personally is the "Cleansing of The Ten Lepers". This story is about ten lepers that ask Jesus to heal them. After, Jesus healed them only one came back to show Jesus how thankful he was. I think that most people just ask Jesus for help and then forget to thank Him after He has answered their prayers. In today's society, most people don't say thank you at all. For example: when they borrow something from a friend or when a friend's mom buys them lunch. They may think the other person knows that they are thankful, but they don't take the time to thank them. This story symbolizes the issue of gratitude. Not a lot of people these days say "thanks", "excuse me", or " please". They just go ahead and do what they want to without saying anything.

Reply
Lucy M 215
4/6/2011 12:07:17 pm

Hi Mrs.Beadel in what book/chapter is the unforgiving servant? Because I left home early because I was sick.

Please and thank you luv ya bye

Reply
Lucy M 215
4/6/2011 12:26:08 pm

I liked Mark chapter4 3-8 the story of the sower sowing his land because it tells a true lesson about the world we live in to day. The bad people fall on the side of the road and are eaten by evil. Those who choose to listen and not believe or believe for only a little bit will grow but then die. The people who have faith in GOD are constantly growing and will never die in faith. And GOD is our sower and we should be thankful that someone good is planting us.

Reply
Alyssa G/208
4/6/2011 08:51:25 pm

To me the healing/miracle stories show that God will always forgive you and that He can do anything. I can relate to the walking on water story because sometimes I look down and not up to God. This is what Peter did. This story symbolizes that we have to trust God no matter how impossible the circumstances are.

Reply
Roberto R.208
4/7/2011 12:48:39 am

to me the story of Bartimaeus relates to me because like him i was spiritually blind. God opened my eyes and I too followed Him.

Reply
Leslie C. 215
4/7/2011 06:22:35 am

The healing/miracle stories to me personally mean that if you have faith in God all things are possible. There really isn't one specific story that just relates to me, they all kind of do. In relation to the blind man story, we are like the blind man because we only see the world in black and white, not color. We don't expose our minds to the different cultures. We are prejudice in a way and therefore, blind. Truly, I think, when we SAY we are brothers and sisters, we SHOULD be brothers and sisters.

Reply
Jonathan s / 215
4/7/2011 08:38:03 am

The healing / miracle stories relate to me because having faith is one of the most important things in life because if you don't have it you will be worrying about everything I'm life but if you have faith in God you will be truly happy. The bible story that relates to me is the one where Jesus is walking on water because When the apostles saw jesus they thought he was a ghost so they had little faith in today's world God gives us all sorts of signs but in order to see them we all must have faith in God.

Reply
Ra215
4/7/2011 11:06:12 am

I can relate to the story about Peter questioning Jesus because, I think we all question God, if we know it or not. I also think that I relate to it because, sometimes i find it difficult to always have faith.

Reply
Rachel215
4/7/2011 11:07:33 am

oops. i forgot to put my name.

Reply
Annabelle M./208
4/7/2011 11:35:16 am

The healing/miracle stories mean to me that God has always been in our lives but he sent His son Jesus to show us his love towards us, by performing miracles like healing the sick, or showing compassion to those who are hurt, and helping those in need. One bible story i think i might relate to is the story of Jesus Walking On Water, because it symbolizes how powerful Jesus was.When Peter did not trust him, it reminded me of how children nowadays need proof to believe things they think might be impossible, peter probably thought it wasnt possible for Jesus to walk on water, but in the end he was amazed.

Reply
Kayla Rodriguez 208
4/7/2011 11:59:31 am

Personally, the stories of all the healing miracles prove exactly how much Jesus loves us and how complex our God truly is. Even though Jesus obviously didn’t perform these miracles the show off, they had much more to say than “I love you, here’s your eye sight” or “There you go I cured your disease. Glad you have faith.” They all have some type of deeper meaning or lesson we can learn from it. Every single verse from the Bible isn’t just a “story” but can be multiple lessons (in even just one verse!). If we allow ourselves to think beyond the words, we can figure out a lot about ourselves, our God, (how can you know yourself without knowing your God first?) and how to live it out. The fact that God planned out all of the stories in the Bible to happen, be said to always apply to life, teach us a lesson while teaching us about Himself, and unlock all sorts of thoughts in our heads to bring us closer to Him, proves just how complex and majestic He is.

(Answers to questions two and three are sort of combined here)One story that relates to me would probably be the story when Jesus calmed the sea. The people in boat obviously believed in Jesus, and had Him with them. But, he was kind of tucked away in their lives. He was “sleeping” but still there. That relates to a lot of us now because we know Jesus is there, but we keep him hidden or forget. Yes, we hear that ALL the time, right? But it’s soo true! The fact that Jesus was literally with them during such an intense storm, but was sleeping, symbolizes the times in our lives that God tests us and puts us through hardships to test where our faith is at. If you were in the boat, would you be terrified because Jesus is “not paying attention” or not spreading super obvious miracle dust everywhere? Or would you trust that He is with you ALWAYS even if it is not obviously shown?

The reason this relates to me is because God put me through a heck of storm for a very very long time. The whole time I questioned Him, tested Him, and really doubted my faith. But, came to realize a lot of things about my faith and where I stood with it. At the moment I thought was fine and take it all on my own, but that wasn’t the reality of the situation. The second I took hold on the reigns of my faith so many amazing doors opened. I felt God relieved with me saying “Took you long enough!” I once heard that when people push you it means they care and once they give up on you, that is the worst place to be. God wasn’t finished with me and I was ending something life changing before it even started. He was pushing me until I felt I’d break, in a way I did. I thank God for my storm. That storm and all my mistakes from it, helped to start shaping the person I hope to be. Sometimes I wish I was smarter back then, but I’ll never regret the lessons learned from them. What broke me, saved me. That’s my reality whether I like it or not. God tested me, and I was failing badly. Something clicked my world flipped. I saw things I thought I already knew. I hope you can all grab onto your faith and hold it dearly. Because when you’re falling off the highest cliff you’ll ever see, that’s the one thing that will pull you back up before you hit rock bottom.

This story (calming of the sea) was God’s way of telling us to HAVE FAITH and you’ll make it.

Reply
Therese C.215
4/7/2011 12:04:36 pm

I like the story of how Jesus walks on water because Peter asked Jesus to help him walk on water because he has a tremendous faith and he can walk on water becuase he had complete and total faith in Him. But then something happens to distract him from God. He takes his eyes off of Jesus and realizes that (in human terms) he's walking on top of the water! He totally loses it and starts to cruy for help. This reminds me of my own life concentrate on frequent prayer and good things happen. Then distractions get in the way and I find myself 'crying' out for Jesus' help.

Reply
Kory F. 215
4/7/2011 12:12:58 pm

I think the story that relates to me the most is the calming of the sea because it shows that we always need to have faith in God. It personally means to me that we always need to have faith and with God anything is possible. In life we can get lost, but Jesus will always be there to help us.

Reply
Alejandra G./215
4/15/2011 05:43:35 am

Hi Mrs. Beadel! I wanted to tell you that the play was amazing! You did a great job! I enjoyed it and can't wait to see it again tonight!

Reply
Alexa C./215
4/15/2011 08:10:38 am

Hi Mrs.Beadel your play was awesome and I loved it! The characters acted so well. I can't wait like Alejandra said to see it again tonight!

Reply
Jasmine H. 215
4/15/2011 02:03:02 pm

You were so right Mrs. Beadel the show was AMAZING at night!!! Thanks for putting all your time in effort in being able to put on a play for OLL.

Reply
Victoria L. 215
4/16/2011 08:26:05 am

Hi Mrs.Beadel I saw the play last night and it was amazing!!! Congratulations to you and the cast. You guys did great! See you Monday. I hope you have a great weekend! :)

Reply
Kendrick R. 215
4/18/2011 09:56:14 am

Hi Mrs. Beadel! the play, West Side Story, was INCREDIBLE! Congrats to you and the cast! AMAZING!

Reply



Leave a Reply.