Today's class, although a bit repetitive, focused on how the Bible writers wrote in expressions and words of their era. Using symbolism and storytelling techniques such as figurative language, the Bible is not meant to be taken literally, like a science book. 

Check out the video below. First you will see an image, followed by bible quotes that reflect it. There are many bible verses, so it would make sense to pause the video to read them. See how the symbolism takes effect, yet it doesn't tarnish the TRUTH in the Bible!

Comment on your favorite one. You will see a few of these on Friday's test! Be able to interpret them.
Rachel Mertel
10/11/2010 10:54:44 am

i really like this video. i think it represents that, even though some people think that the bible is literal, thats their opinion, and every one has there own opinion, and all other meaningfulness that should be included

Amanda Suarez- 208
10/11/2010 11:33:56 am

My favorite one is the one of the seed. I believe that we are not real seeds, just like it says that seed are " decendants of Christ".
These are the bible versus on this picture: "That is, those who are not the children of God; but the children of the promise are counted as the seed"- Romans 9:8
This is the second verse: "The promises were spoken to Abraham and to his seed. The Scripture does not say 'and to seeds' meaning many people, but ' and to your seed ,' meaning one person, who is Christ"- Galatians 3:16 (ding aling aling) (lol the video to 208)
Out of these two my favorite is the second one because it means that his decendants which leads to Jesus, but not to us because yes we are his decendants but in faith maybe not in blood.
This really spoke out to me out of all the other ones because just think of it how awesome it is to feel like you have him in our hearts like we do like that small space for Him and for God.

Therese C. #215
10/11/2010 11:35:32 am

WOW. I really like this video. The music playing is beautiful and very calming. The pictures are incredible. The quotes are so vivid that I can practically see them in my mind. I think my favorite one is:

"Which is easier: to say, 'Your sins are forgiven,'or to say 'Get up and walk'? But that you may know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins....' He said to the paralyzed man, 'I tell you, get up, take your mat and go home." Like 5: 23-24

I think it means that usually, for example, if some kid in the hallway of our school falls and drops all of his books, most of the time we are to much in a hurry to get to class that we don't get down and help him. That's easier. But, if we get down and help him, that's what Jesus would do. I really like this video and I hope Mrs. Beadel downloads more videos similar to these on her website! XOXO:)

Victoria Lasarte 215
10/11/2010 12:14:20 pm

I loved the video. It helped me realize that we shouldn't take every story in the bible literally. God tells us stories in a way that we can understand. Maybe, in the story of creation, seven days was really seven years. It also helped me make comparisons between everyday objects and God.
My favorite slide was the picture of the bread and the quote that followed.
"Then Jesus declared,"I am the bread of life.He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty." John 6:35
I like this quote because it helps me realize that God is the giver of life. He is our Father. He will always protects us we just need to go to HIm.
I loved the video! (:

Kayla Rodriguez 208
10/11/2010 12:15:52 pm

First off, this video was AMAZING. Alot of the quotes were really nice and just got my brain thinking in a million different ways.
I chose the quote that said "I will make man scarcer than pure gold more rare than the gold of Ophir" I don't remember the verse.
When God said he made man scarcer than gold, I don't think He meant quantity, I think He meant QUALITY. Humans are His greatest creations, like we had said today in class. Not one person has the same fingerprint; He made everyone unique. You cannot find another you no matter how hard you try. He made us each unique in our own way. Sure, there are people who have similar beliefs and traits, but they could never be YOU. No matter how much Match.com tries to convince you otherwise. Also, another point I want to get across on the topic of uniqueness is that the same way he all have God-shaped spot in our hearts; He has a Kayla-shaped spot, a Mrs.Beadel shaped-spot, an Amanda-shaped spot, and it never ends. God loves us all and made us all different to be able to fill those different spots with the real us. I can't fill the Amanda-shaped spot and neither can a piece of gold. Only we can. We are way more special than a piece of gold and God wanted to make that very clear.
<3 :)

Jasmine H.
10/11/2010 12:19:55 pm

My favorite quote was John 6: 51-52

"I am the living bread that came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever. This is the bread of our flesh,which I will give to the life of the world. Then the Jews began to argue sharply amongst themselves, "how can this man give us His flesh to eat?"

I think that this goes back to a topic we were talking about in class today. You asked us if people were to put everything that people would do if us humans would be able to understand. I answered saying that as humans we take everything to literate and we already question God enough. If the Holy Spirit would've inspired the authors of the Bible to write down everything Jesus did it would be much more confusing. If they were to do that I would kinda be lost because I hardly understand the things in the Bible that we read today. I think it's a a Godincidence that this quote stood out to me the most. We as humans will never be able to understand God as He understands us.

Lauren G / 208
10/11/2010 12:20:36 pm

I really liked this video, alot! The music is just beautiful and the pictures are amazing. But what really stood out to me the most were the quotes. They were all so beautiful. But my favorite one is:

'Then Jesus declared, "I am the the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he believes in me will never be thirsty. "

I really love this quote. I love this quote because to me it says that we should always be with Christ. Because when we are with him he protects us. I also think its saying that Christ is always with us and protecting us, but we just have to go to him.

I really loved this video Mrs. Beadel! Great idea :D


Alex R. 208
10/11/2010 12:27:45 pm

I liked this quote:“Like a roaring lion or a charging bear is a wicked man ruling over a helpless people.” It shows that even though a lot of the bible is figurative that doesn't mean that it has no meaning.

Michael B. 208
10/11/2010 09:08:11 pm

I LIKE THE DRAGON REVELATION 12:7-9
IT IS AMAZING TO SEE THE POWER OF GOD'S ARMY AGAINST SATAN. GOD AND HIS ANGELS WILL PREVAIL OVER EVIL FOR ETERNITY.
THE DEVIL BEIGN REPRESENTED BY THE DRAGON IS A SCARY FIGURE, WE CAN TELL THE DIFFERENCE WHEN WE READ ITNETWEEN GOD AND SATAN

Christina Franco / 208
10/11/2010 09:22:59 pm

My favorite verse is Mathew 7:15, the one with the wolf picture.
“Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves.”
To me this verse means that we should be careful to whom we listen. Not everybody that we meet will say the truth, even those who appear to be spreading the word of God. This verse tells us to seek the truth. I think this is quite a coincidence that we were talking about how the Bible shouldn’t be taken literal, and this verse is a great example. Some will use the words in the bible and twist them around for their convenience or their purpose.

Thanks Mrs. Beadel this was an awesome video. :D

Kayla Rodriguez 208
10/12/2010 03:57:14 am

Christina... AWESOME. That's I have to say. Well done my friend, well done.

Jordan H / 208
10/12/2010 04:01:38 am

My favorite pic was the angel coming down and puting his/her hand on the girl who looks like her world is going to come to an end. And my favorit quote is Dainal 9: 21-22 " i am gabrial i stand in presense of God and i have been sent to speak to you and tell you this good news" and i think that when your down gad sends an angel in presence of him to calm your mind. =-)

Karina A. 208
10/12/2010 04:03:34 am

My favorite quote was Luke 1:19, " On the sixth month, God sent and angel Gabriel to Nazareth, a town in in Gallilee." This verse reminds me that Jesus the Son of God is about to come on Earth. It tells me that Mary is the one who said yes to the angel Gabriel becuase she never turned down God. I love how this verse is saying that God sent the angel Gabriel to tell Mary that she would give birth to a son and name him Jesus. It's kind of like a chain God sent Gabriel to tell Mary that she was going to have a son so that Jesus would represent God on Earth. I loved this verse! :)

Julian Acosta 208
10/12/2010 04:04:51 am

My favorite quote from the bible from this video is
'Then Jesus declared, "I am the the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty. " I think this means to me that God is always there and he will always be there and He will always protect us, but we need to go to HIM.
Good Vid Mrs. B

Karina A. 208
10/12/2010 04:05:08 am

This verse mainly talks about the very start of Jesus Christ.

anthony rodriguez 208
10/12/2010 04:06:47 am

i like the one with the bear because it reminds me when God created the world and when he created animals.

the thing that really spoke to me was when i saw that picture of the bear, i thought of how the first life of animals was created in the world.

and its so good to see animals like a beatiful bear survive and just have a great life.

and i loved the other picture with the tower because it reminds me when i went to europe, but that doesnt matter right now, lol :D

"he died for us, we live for him" i love that quote :)

Victoria Roque
10/12/2010 04:06:51 am

AWESOME!!! I love how the beat is in the music and espiically this quote:
Then Jesus declared"I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry and he believs in me will never be thirsty."

I love this quote because it makes soo much sense that however goes to God will never have a hard timne in life and whoever has faith in God, God will never leave them. God is always there for us even if we are thirsty

Danny P/208
10/12/2010 04:06:57 am

“Like a roaring lion or a charging bear is a wicked man ruling over a helpless people.” Its like when the president thinks that hes everything in the world he has people begging to him to calm down.

Daniel Camacho (208)
10/12/2010 04:07:17 am

My favorite qoute is Proverbs 21-31

I really like this one beacause it gives me the confidence that God is always going to be there ready for us,but victory is always with him.

Amen

Veronica Gonzalez 208
10/12/2010 04:07:39 am

I like it and it means that the black clothes means evil and the white clothes means goodness.

Jose Diaz 208
10/12/2010 04:08:09 am

My favorite verse was Daniel 9:21-22 because it tells you when God sent the Angel Gabriel to Mary and when the Son of God was going to be born Jesus Christ! It was the most beautiful thing in the world seeing Jesus be born. That is what I think of verse Daniel 9:21-22.

Steven P. 208
10/12/2010 06:14:51 am

My favorite one was Mark 1:10. It explains how Jesus thought how the spirits were descending on him like a dove. I like this video it was really cool. It had a lot of bible quotes i couldn't read them all but I read most of them.

Daniella M./ 215
10/12/2010 06:30:06 am

I really liked this video. My favorite quote is John 6:35. Which is the one with the picture of the bread.
"Then Jesus declared, "I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never go thirsty."
I love this quote! To me it means that God will always be there to protect us, but we need to go to Him. Also, that He is our father.
Loved the video Mrs. Beadel (:

Gaby Ariza.208
10/12/2010 06:30:41 am

HI:D I loved this video it was really interesting to see all these bible quotes and try to think of them in a different way than i usually think(literally) My favorite Bible quote was "But whoever hates his brother is in the darkness and walks around the darkness;he does not know where he is going because the darkness has blinded him" I love this because it explains that when you hate everything and look at everything in such a negative way you will never see the beauty that God has given us,all your going to see is something wrong or bad because you are a mean or negative person you wont see it because you are looking and surrounding your self with wrong not right or in other ways you are "blind"

Amanda de Winter - 215
10/12/2010 06:34:17 am

I really liked these videos. They helped me understand some words in the Scripture that before I didn't understand and didn't make sense to me. My favorite verse was Isaiah 28:5 "In that day the Lord Almighty will be a glorious crown, a beautiful wreath for the remnant of His people." I now know that Crown = a glorious ruler or rulership.

Amanda de Winter - 215
10/12/2010 06:36:56 am

Mrs. Beadel why is it that sometimes in the Bible it has the word Lord capitalized like this???

LORD
I thought you just capitalized the first letter.

Leslie C. 215
10/12/2010 06:50:32 am

My favorite quote is Matthew 7:15- " Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep's clothing, but inwardly they ferocious wolves."

To me this quote means that sometimes in our life we will encounter things that are a lie.( friends- people pretend to be our friends, but in real life they're not, sometimes in a case- lives, or clothes- fakes.) We can't always believe what we hear ( sometimes see, too)unless we ourselves hear it. Just like Christina said that some people can twist the truth in the bible or when they are preaching the Word of God. We need to seek the truth, to know the truth about God, religion, or anything. This was an AWESOME video!!!!!!!! ;)

Therese C. 215
10/12/2010 07:03:34 am

I already commented yesterday, but you know what's a GOD-incident in my opinion? Since I commented early, I guess somehow God thought it was a good thing so in the Rosary we did today, I noticed that my favorite quote in this video was in one of the skits the 6th graders did today! :D

Tommy Bello-215
10/12/2010 07:10:18 am

Some people take the bible literally ,and my favorite verse is "The four great beasts are four kingdoms that will rise from the earth." They also helped me understand words in scripture that i never knew before.

Alejandra G.
10/12/2010 07:12:59 am

I LOVED this video! Super cute! The music was peaceful and relaxing and the quotes were very meaningful! My favorite quote out of all of them was:

Then Jesus declared,"I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty."

This quote means that Jesus will always protect us, but we have to trust, worship, and love Him in order to gain His protection and trust. He loves us very much and would do anything for us. We should worship Jesus and act as humble as He is.

Alexa C./215
10/12/2010 07:15:34 am

My favorite quote was John 6:35" Then Jesus declared,"I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty."

To me this quote means that we need to accept Jesus in our hearts and minds for us to get eternal life in Him. We also need to have faith and believe in Him in order to have a strong relationship with Him in our hearts and in our minds. We need to have faith and believe in Him. He is the living body and blood in which we need to continue our journey of faith into heaven. This video really helped me understand what all those bible quotes meant.

charles gutierrez 215
10/12/2010 07:20:46 am

I thught that was an interesting vidio. My favorite verse of the vidio was Matthew 13:39. reapers angels "the enemy that sowed them is the devil; the harvest is the end of the world; and the repers are the angels."

Nicole L / 215
10/12/2010 07:33:11 am

I LOVED this video! The music and entire video was very relaxing and calming and the quotes were beautiful! Out of all the quotes my favorite one was :

Then Jesus declared, "I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty."
John 6:35

I really like this quote because it shows that you always need to have God and Jesus with you,and always remeber that in him everything is possible but not easy. Whenever you are with Jesus, you are safe. But, we need to love, worship, and repect Him for His protection and love.

Thank you Mrs. Beadel for the WONDERFUL video! so cute! (:

Alejandro D. 215
10/12/2010 07:39:31 am

Wow. I didnt think that the bible could have this many symbolic things. Imagine if the video had all of the numbers. Well anyways, my favorite quote was the one about the rain. It goes like this: "If ye walk in my statues, and keep my commandments...Then I will give you rain in due season, and the land shall yeild her increase."(Leviticus 26: 3-4 To me, the writer is saying that God uses a metaphor stating that rain is another word for blessings. It also means that if we do a certain amount of good, he will reward us in " the season due,"

kendrick r. 215
10/12/2010 08:06:57 am

I LIKE THIS VIDEO! It makes so mcuh sense.
My favorite verse is "genesis 19:2", " my lords, he said, " please turn aside your servant's house. You can wash your feet spend the night and then go on your way early in the morning."No" they answered, we will spend the night in the square."

Anthony R. 215
10/12/2010 08:09:38 am

"like a roaring lion or a charging bear is a wicked man ruling over a helpless people" i like this verse because it like tels me that even if there is the worst person ruling over you you cannot like hold back to your beliefs you should like fight in what you believe in it doesn't matter if that person has more power over you.

Jonathan S / 215
10/12/2010 08:16:22 am

The video was very touching. Out of all the quotes (which were really good) my favorite was John 6: 51-52. To me that quote means that some people or religions misundersatnd bible sayings becuase they think its literal. God puts these sayings in a way for us to understand. We really can't eat Jesus' flesh or drink his blood but that means if you exept Him into your soul you will find true peace and happiness.

Andres d 208
10/12/2010 08:19:19 am

This is is a good video. It helped me understand the Bible a little better. Me favorite one was the jar, vessel, or pot. Since the potter can mold the pot to his liking, the pot resembles us and the potter is God. God can make us in whatever way, shape, or form He would like.

Andres d 208
10/12/2010 08:20:22 am

I also like the quote it says all the way at the end. Its very helpful.

Annabelle M. 208
10/12/2010 08:23:58 am

"I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, he who belives in me will never go thirsty."
John 6:51-52 I like this quote alot and have heard it many times. It's saying that if you believe and trust in God he will protect you and satisfy your needs forever.

justin a 215
10/12/2010 08:24:57 am

The video was long and beautiful. my favorite verse is, "The Spirit gives life the flesh counts for nothing.The words i have spoken to you are spirit and they are life." that really touched me. the verse means it doesnt matter what you do in this life time, it matters what you do in the next life time

Alessi Armengol 208
10/12/2010 08:26:03 am

This was a very nice video. I liked all of the verses and they were all meaningful but my favorite was Ephesians 6:16. It says, " 'In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.' " It's saying that with faith we can overcome sin and we will be protected by God.

Erika C.- 215
10/12/2010 08:40:47 am

I really liked the video. Now that I have seen this, it started making sense. Now I understand that the Bible shouldn't be taken as something literally but as something used for us to comprehend.This is the quote that I picked.

"Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep's clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves."-Mathew 7:15.

I picked this quote because this is saying that don't always believe what you are told but instead pray to God and ask Him for His guidence.

Mae-lynn F. 208
10/12/2010 09:05:11 am

My favorite verse would have to be Matthew 7:15 "Whatch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep's clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves." I like this verse because a lot of people believe what people say to them and so this verse tells us not to always belive what people tell you.but to ask god if what I am told is true or not.

Amanda B./208
10/12/2010 09:32:21 am

I love the video! Especially the music and the pictures it shows!
All the quotes were amazing. My favorite picture and verse is the picture of the bread and the verse that followed. I almost couldn’t decide which quote to pick until I read this one.
“Then Jesus declared, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.” John 6:35
This quote helps me understand that even if we do something bad; if we are truly sorry God will forgive us. He is our Heavenly Father. We can come to Him with anything. If we need Him he will be there for us. This part of the quote reached out the most to me because, I realized some people need God’s help and when they believe He comes to them and helps them; “He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty.”

Karyna Pena 215
10/12/2010 10:19:17 am

i like the bible verse: "Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path." i think this bible verse resembles that Jesus is the light of the world and he leads us back to Him when we are lost.

Monica Diaz 215
10/12/2010 10:26:19 am

My favorite verse is Mathew 7:15. "Whatch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep's clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves." I think it symbolizes that don't listen to everything people write or say, some of it may be lies. It does NOT mean that wolves hide in a sheep's outfit. The second part means that people will lie to drive you in. It reminds me of the Dove commercial you posted. Mrs. Beadel are you going to post the Vicious Circle by Dane Cook on this website??? It was really funny!!! By the way, this video was AWESOME, it really had me thinking about how everything is true and some of it was real. Symbolism is the way God makes things easier for us to understand, because I don't believe God just put two people on Earth, I believe in evolution, but I DEFINITELY BELIEVE IN GOD!!! Oh, and also the music was so calming, it helped me think.
- Monica Diaz

Monica Diaz
10/12/2010 10:27:16 am

Watch was spelled wrong!!! It was spelled WHATCH

Marlon Garcia 215
10/12/2010 10:27:33 am

My favorite quote is:

"In addition to all this,take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one." Ephesians 6:16

What i think this quote means is that as long as you have faith and believe in God you can never be hurt by lies

Also I like the music the video was playing.

Mrs. Beadel
10/12/2010 10:29:05 am

WOW!!! What fantastic comments!

I am so happy yo are all able to connect with this video and that symbolism improves pieces, not makes them blurry!

Monica, if I can find a non-cursing version, I will post it.

Alyssa Gancedo/208
10/12/2010 10:35:33 am

'Then Jesus declared to them "I am the bread of life. He who goes to me will never go hungry, he who believes in me who will never go thirsty." John 6:35

To me this means that if you believe in God he will always help you through things and He will always comfort you.

LucyM215
10/12/2010 10:39:41 am

I like Jhon6:35 because Jesus is our life we can't live with out Him just like we can't live with out food or water. Some people might think(literally) that we'll never go hungry because we believe in Jesus but it just means we need Jesus to get to heaven because if you don't eat you'll starve(common sense). =^-^=

P.S. LOVED THE VIDEO!!!!!!! :)

Veronica Gonzalez 208
10/12/2010 11:51:48 am

I liked the fist one, meaning that your guardian angel will never abandon you, in this case meaning that black = evil and white = good. I also liked the video were the lamb represented Jesus, meaning, "The Lamb is Christ's sacrifice
to the world." Therefore, Christ sacrifice is the most powerful sacrifice and is the last one('cuz before they sacrificed animals).

Veronica Gonzalez 208
10/12/2010 11:54:01 am

Sorry, it should be Christ's sacrifice, not Christ sacrifice.

Kory Fleming/215
10/13/2010 07:46:36 am

"I will make man scarcer than pure gold, more rare than the gold of Ophir." Isaiah 13:12

I like this one because it is saying that God made us more than any other thing.

K ROx. 215
10/13/2010 08:03:40 am

baket mo lagey mo lahat mo yon panghalan mo Kory?

anthony mora 215
10/13/2010 08:10:19 am

wow i like that it says a lot if you get it, but yeah i like the message.

Joseph Basulto 208
10/13/2010 09:32:11 am

I like the symbol of the dove and what it means to me. It symbolizes that God is always watching and caring for us 24/7 till the ends of the earth . It also reminds me of how he makes us special and unique in different ways.

Don't forget to watch the video Mrs. Beadel.

Bradley Chapman 208
10/13/2010 10:19:33 am

i like this video because it symbolizes god's creation of the earth and the dove that god sent to noah that he would never flood the earth again. Most importantly though, its smybolizes that God is always watching us and taking care of us.

Samantha D.
10/14/2010 07:57:59 am

I really liked this video and all the qoutes they had to do with God and they all spoke to me in a way u wouldn't believe




Peace . love . pray. cheer
YaY!!!!

Samantha D.
10/14/2010 08:04:44 am

"I will make a man scarcer than pure gold, more rare than the gold of Ophir" Isiah 13:12
I change my mind I like this one the best out of all because it says that God created us to be better than anything in this world so we wouldn't be called an it we would be called human



Peace. Love. Pray. Cheer
YAY!!!!

Rachel M.
10/14/2010 11:45:22 am

i know you might not check this, or count it as a grade, or extra credit or something, but i want to write something, so i am. i like that this video is also to make you understand the world more, without really telling much. i don't know why i think that, i just do. and, also i would like to suggest something, for class. like, maybe, we could have a writing assignment. we could go outside and you could take us to the rosary garden, and you could make us write an inspiring essay on how we believe certain places make us think about God,or a more creative assignment, like, we could be given certain religions "method " or something, and we could make a story about it


Comments are closed.