Picture
Today in class, we discussed the grave need to come together as a student body and as Catholics in times of strife. Below is an update from Brother Angelo from the Archidiocese of Miami. Let us continue to pray for Monica and her family as she will have to make some life changes.

Dear Friends in Christ,

 You have all heard the sad news concerning the event that occurred at Archbishop McCarthy High School yesterday afternoon. A seventeen year old senior lost her leg as the result of a car accident. Unfortunately, the doctors were not able to save her leg. A second student was also struck by the car, but was released from the hospital with minor injuries. We are grateful to administration and staff at the school who did a remarkable job of keeping order and calm at that critical time.

 The Department of Schools wishes to thank you all for your support through prayers and offers of assistance. Counselors from many of our schools and Catholic Charities were available to assist the students and staff when they arrived at school today. During a special prayer service in the gym, a silent student body heard their Principal, Mr. Richard Jean, speak about the need to come together in prayer during such difficult times. He told the students that their love and support for Monica will be a great help to her in her recovery.

 Please continue to keep the injured students and all at Archbishop McCarthy High School in your prayers.

 Sincerely,

 Br. Angelo


Amanda de Winter - 215
10/21/2010 07:14:10 am

This is so SAD!!! It really makes me realize that things like this could happen to any of us. I hope for Monica that she will recover quickly and cope with the loss of her leg. I'll keep her and her family in my prayers. :(

Reply
Therese C. 215
10/21/2010 07:26:08 am

I totally agree with Amanda! That's horrib;e news that they can't fix her leg but I guess it's good that the other dude wasn't hurt that badly. I can't even imaging how badly that grandmother must feel! And the grandchildren! AND THE PARENTS OF MONICA!!!!!!! I will pray for them ALL.

Reply
kendrickr. 215
10/21/2010 10:07:39 am

its so sad and ... SCARY!!! i certainly would not NOT want to lose a leg. i feel bad for all the people who saw it... (so scary even to think of it) i also feel bad for the grandmother and the parents of the one whoes injured. So SCARY... <**SNIFF**!> my mom said that it will be a long operation. LONG. I hope she was asleep. <Obviously she was. i was just hoping.>

Reply
Rachel M.
10/21/2010 10:31:14 am

that's sooooooooo sad! they couldn't get her leg back? i hope they give her a robtic one. that would be soooooo cool if she went totaly back to normal and the whole thing would just seem like a nightmare that was a year long! she would be nomal again, and feel herself again! i will keep her, and her perants, and the old lady, and the dud, and the people watching, and every body this could have happened to. she must have been realy brave, to keep her calm, especialy since her leg was cut off! pull through, brave teen!!!

RACHEL G. MERTEL!

Reply
Jose Diaz 208
10/21/2010 10:56:29 am

This is not a good thing that happend yesterday it was really sad because she lost her leg maybe because she wasn't looking at her surroundings. That is an event that you feel bad for. I hope Monica the best of luck and hope that she recovers in short notice and nicely.

Reply
Jose Diaz 208
10/21/2010 11:02:08 am

I feel bad for the girl I mean for her and her family. I hope that she can recover from her leg fast and well with the help of God. I will keep all of the McCarthy students in my prayers and the two people in the accident.

Reply
Alejadro D. rm 215
10/21/2010 11:35:05 am

Well all I have to say is I will keep her deeply in my prayers. I will pray for the family and the individual girl. I pray for the best and for God's will to be that she recovers quickly.

Reply
Victoria J. 208
10/21/2010 12:08:27 pm

That is so sad. But we all know that God was on her side yesterday:)

Reply
Danny P. 208
10/21/2010 08:42:31 pm

I feel bad for her, she might not realize it now, but God always knows what's best in the end. My thoughts and prayers are with Monica and the family.

Reply
Jasmine H. 215
10/22/2010 07:56:39 am

It says they weren't able to reattach the leg. I thought they did.

Reply
Amanda Suarez - 208
10/22/2010 12:45:57 pm

I feel so bad for Monica but I know that this will bring all of us closer to God in prayer. I pray for all her friends, family, and especially her because anything can happen with the power of God.

Reply
Michael Barcelo
10/23/2010 01:17:12 am

Thi is a horrible thing that happened to Monica. He life totally change in a minute. Having my life change I know some of the pain she and her family are suffering. As a survivor I know that if God saved her live is because he must have an important purpose for her. She is also a survivor and with the help of family and friends she will serve God and be an example of faith and strenght. I'm praying for her.

Reply
Tommy Bello-215
10/23/2010 05:16:16 am

The doctors weren't able to reattach the leg, and I heard that they were going to amputate it, but I am not sure.

Reply
kendrick r 215
10/23/2010 10:04:44 am

i thought she got her leg back? im confused...

Reply
Bradley Chapman 208
10/25/2010 09:32:17 am

I hope Monica can still live a normal life as if the accident never happened. I keep her in my prayers

Reply
anthony r. 208
10/25/2010 10:21:34 am

i cant believe this happened to her, her whole entire life changed in just a single minute. my family is praying for every day before dinner. i hope she gets better and recovers from her ordeal that happened the other day ago. i hope God sends his angels down to the hospital where she recovering. AMEN :)

Reply
Leslie C. # 215
10/25/2010 10:34:15 am

I was very sad to hear what happened to her. I hope she will recover to her fullest. My family and I have her in our prayers.

Reply
charles g 215
10/25/2010 10:43:47 am

i feel very bad for her that she has to go on with her life with one leg so me and my family are praying for her

Reply
Monica Diaz/ 215
10/26/2010 05:47:17 am

I feel so sorry for everybody that was impacted with the accident. I hope Monica Pong can overcome the accident and continue life as happily as she possibly can. I pray for her, the others, and the grandmother. I hope we all do. It teaches us to be more cautious with surroundings. Pray for her.

Reply
Anthony Mora 215
10/27/2010 07:46:46 am

i'm so sorry, God's with her and she's with him

Reply



Leave a Reply.